7 Day Machame Route: ZAFS Tours Private Climb
This 7 day Machame route listing is a private Kilimanjaro climb run by ZAFS Tours on Viator, priced at $2,425 per person with a 4.9 rating from 190 reviews. You sleep in private tents with a dining tent and a crew that includes a chef, a waiter and porters, and guides with at least 8 years on the mountain hold Wilderness First Responder certification. The route starts at Machame Gate at 1,800 m, crosses Lava Tower and the Barranco Wall and descends the Mweka trail. Before you book, read what the price leaves out, because the inclusions list names no park fees, no hotel nights and no airport transfers. The comparison of Kilimanjaro climbing tours puts this listing next to rivals that include more. See all Kilimanjaro climbing tours side by side.
About This Tour
ZAFS Tours runs this as a private 7 day climb of Kilimanjaro by the Machame Route, sometimes called the Whiskey Route. The listing says the route is not technically harder than Marangu but is longer and steeper in places, which gives better acclimatisation through walking high and sleeping low. Every climb carries an emergency oxygen cylinder according to the operator, and the crew runs daily health checks on every climber.
You meet at the Leopard Hotel in Moshi town, about 200 m from NMB Bank toward the local market, and you return to the same point. Camping equipment, all meals on the mountain and the full crew are in the price. What is not named in the inclusions matters as much, so read the table below before paying.
$2,425, per person, for a private climb of up to 15 per booking. It covers tents, mattresses, meals on the mountain and the crew.
7 days on the Machame Route, from Machame Gate at 1,800 m down the Mweka trail.
Meeting point in Moshi town at the Leopard Hotel, reached on foot from NMB Bank. The listing does not state hotel pickup.
Kilimanjaro summit, height not stated in the listing. Uhuru Peak on Kibo is 5,895 m (19,341 ft) according to park figures.
The inclusions list does not mention park fees, rescue fees, airport transfers or a hotel, so ask the operator what the price covers before booking. Pre and post hike hotel nights in Moshi are available on request and are not included.
Free cancellation 24 hours before departure for a full refund, and the booking is also refunded if too few travellers join.
Check Dates and Availability
Starting times are confirmed when you check availability. The operator confirms your meeting point in Moshi.
You'll confirm the exact date and time on the secure booking page.
Quick answer The short answer
This 7 day Machame route climb costs $2,425 per person, runs as a private tour for up to 15 people and holds a 4.9 rating from 190 reviews on Viator.
Key takeaways
- The inclusions list names no park fees, hotel nights or airport transfers, so confirm those with the operator before you pay. See what the price covers.
- The route runs Machame Gate (1,800 m) to the summit, then down the Mweka trail. The day by day route is here.
- If you want park fees inside the price, compare the Machame Route 6 Days from Zara Tours or the Lemosho Route 7 Days from Altezza Travel.
- The listing is one of many Machame options on the comparison of Kilimanjaro climbing tours.
What the Price Actually Covers
The honest starting point: at $2,425 per person this is a private climb, but the inclusions list stops at the mountain itself. Here is what the listing states and what it does not.
Included, as the Listing States It
The operator lists private transportation, breakfast, lunch, dinner, tea and coffee, and a mountain crew of experienced guides, chef, waiter and porters. Camping equipment is named in detail: private tents, a dining tent, tents for the crew, tables, chairs, mattresses, cutlery and utensils. Guides have at least 8 years on the mountain and Wilderness First Responder certification, and daily health checks are part of the trek. Every climb carries an emergency oxygen cylinder according to the operator.
The exclusions list names one item: pre and post hike accommodation in Moshi, which is available on request. The listing is otherwise silent on park fees, rescue fees, airport transfers and meals in town. That silence is the main reason to ask questions before paying.
| Line | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $2,425 per person | Private tour, up to 15 per booking |
| Tents and mattresses | Yes | Private tents, dining tent, crew tents, tables, chairs, mattresses, cutlery |
| Meals on the mountain | Yes | Breakfast, lunch, dinner, tea and coffee |
| Crew | Yes | Guides with 8+ years, Wilderness First Responder certified, plus chef, waiter and porters |
| Emergency oxygen | Yes | Carried on every climb according to the operator |
| Park fees | Not stated | The inclusions list names no park fees. The TANAPA tariff sets the Kilimanjaro conservation fee at US$70 per person per day for ages 16 and over, plus 18% VAT, plus campsite fees of US$50 per night. Ask the operator |
| Hotel nights in Moshi | No | Pre and post hike accommodation is available on request and is not included |
| Airport transfers | Not stated | The listing names no JRO transfer. Meet at the Leopard Hotel |
| Tips | No | Tips are not listed as included. Nafika Tours states US$250 to US$300 per hiker on its own listing, and other operators suggest different amounts |
| Visa and insurance | No | The Tanzanian embassy lists the ordinary single-entry visa at US$50 and the multiple-entry visa at US$100. Insurance is not listed as included, and Altezza Travel recommends cover for trekking up to 6,000 m with helicopter evacuation |
| Cancellation | Yes | Full refund up to 24 hours before departure, also refunded if too few travellers join |
What to do About the Gaps
Send the operator one message before booking and ask three things: whether Kilimanjaro National Park fees and rescue fees are covered, whether a Moshi hotel night before and after is included, and whether an airport transfer from Kilimanjaro International Airport (JRO) can be arranged. Get the answers in writing. If you would rather not negotiate, the Machame Route 6 Days from Zara Tours includes park fees, rescue fees and 2 hotel nights for $2,350 per person, and the Lemosho Route 7 Days from Altezza Travel includes park fees, hotel nights and airport transfers at $3,959 per person.
Sources: Wikipedia, Mount Kilimanjaro, UNESCO, Kilimanjaro National Park
Lava Tower. Photo: Stig Nygaard, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
The Route Day by Day
The listing describes the Machame Route rather than a numbered day plan, so the stages below follow its own text with camp heights from published operator figures. Machame is about 49 to 61 km long depending on the source.
From the Rainforest to the Summit
The climb begins at Machame Gate at 1,800 m on the south west side of the mountain, with a first day through rainforest. The trail continues to Shira Camp, where the Lemosho route joins from the west, then traverses the southern side of the mountain via Lava Tower to Barranco. You climb the Great Barranco Wall on the way to Barafu Camp, go for the summit from there, and descend by the Mweka trail instead of retracing the ascent.
The listing does not print a day by day table, so ask the operator for the exact camp sequence on your date. The listing credits the longer distance and the chance to walk high and sleep low for much better acclimatisation and a very high success rate.
| Stage | Route | Height |
|---|---|---|
| Start | Machame Gate | 1,800 m, per the listing and other operators |
| Early camp | Shira Camp | about 3,850 to 3,900 m per operators, where Lemosho joins from the west |
| Traverse | Lava Tower to Barranco | Barranco Camp is about 3,950 to 3,976 m per operators |
| Clue climb | Barranco Wall, about 257 m high per operators, one to two hours | on the way to Barafu |
| High camp | Barafu Camp | 4,640 m per operator figures |
| Summit | Kilimanjaro summit via Stella Point | Uhuru Peak is 5,895 m (19,341 ft). Summit night starts from base camp around 4,600 to 4,800 m per operators |
| Descent | Mweka trail to Mweka Gate | about 1,630 to 1,640 m per operators, then return to the Leopard Hotel in Moshi |
Summit Night on This Itinerary
The listing does not print departure times for summit night. On Machame itineraries generally, operators wake climbers around 11:00 pm, start at midnight from base camp, reach Stella Point at sunrise and Uhuru Peak about 30 minutes to one hour later. Expect only about 15 minutes at the top before descending.
Temperatures at the summit run about minus 7 degrees Celsius on average and can drop to minus 20. No summit is guaranteed: weather and altitude decide, and the daily health checks exist partly to catch climbers who should turn around.
Who This Trip Rules Out
This listing suits private groups who want 7 days on Machame and a strong crew. Several stated limits send other travellers elsewhere.
Check These Limits Before Booking
The booking age band runs from 16 to 75, so younger teenagers and older climbers are out. Travellers with spinal injuries, poor cardiovascular health or who are pregnant are told the trip is not recommended. The operator asks for at least a moderate level of physical fitness.
The inclusions name no hotel nights in Moshi, no park fees and no transfers, so the real trip cost may be higher than $2,425. Guides speak English only. And because you camp, anyone who needs hut walls should look at Marangu instead.
- If you want park fees, rescue fees and hotel nights inside the price, the Machame Route 6 Days from Zara Tours includes all three for $2,350 per person.
- If you want a longer acclimatisation profile on the same southern traverse, the Lemosho Route 8 Days from Habari Adventure adds an extra day for $3,200 per person.
- If 7 days on Machame sounds short, the Machame Route 9 Days Camping from Mokimoh Adventure lists entry fees, government taxes and accommodation before and after the hike, with the number of nights not stated, for $2,455 per person.
- If you want the quieter west with park fees in the price, the Lemosho Route 7 Days from Altezza Travel includes fees, 2 hotel nights and airport transfers for $3,959 per person.
- If you sleep better in huts, the Marangu Route 5 Days from Zara Tours covers park and rescue fees and 2 Moshi nights for $2,402.60 per person.
Altitude, Season and Paperwork
The mountain, the seasons and the paperwork decide more of your trip than the operator does. These figures come from published park and research sources, not from the listing.
Seasons and Altitude
Kilimanjaro has two rainy seasons, late March to May and around November, so the dry windows of January to mid-March and June to October are the safest bets for a 7 day Machame climb. Acute mountain sickness affects about 20 percent of people who ascend rapidly to 2,500 m and about 40 percent at 3,000 m, and this route takes you well past 4,600 m at Barafu Camp. Watch for a headache with nausea, vomiting, loss of appetite or fatigue, and tell your guide at once.
The daily health checks on this trek are there for exactly that. Wikipedia puts the average summit temperature at about minus 7 degrees Celsius, and operators report minus 10 to minus 20 on summit night, so pack for it. Wikipedia puts the average summit success at 70 to 80 percent of about 50,000 trekkers a year.
Read the guide to the best time to climb Kilimanjaro before picking dates.
- Dry seasons: January to mid-March and June to October
- Rains: late March to May and around November
- Summit night: midnight start from base camp, Stella Point at sunrise, Uhuru Peak about 30 to 60 minutes later
Fees, Visas, Tips and Insurance
The TANAPA tariff booklet sets the Kilimanjaro conservation fee at US$70 per person per day for ages 16 and over, plus 18% VAT, and the public campsite fee at US$50 per person per night. A 7 day climb can add up fast, which is why you must ask this operator whether fees are in the $2,425. Tips are expected at the end of the trek, and Nafika Tours states US$250 to US$300 per hiker on its own listing, while other operators suggest different amounts.
The Tanzanian embassy lists the ordinary single-entry visa at US$50 and the multiple-entry visa at US$100, and Follow Alice says US citizens must buy the US$100 multiple-entry visa. Get to Moshi through Kilimanjaro International Airport (JRO), which sits about 40 km from town and serves KLM, Qatar Airways, Turkish Airlines, Ethiopian Airlines, Kenya Airways and others. Buy insurance that covers trekking to 6,000 m with helicopter evacuation, because the park rescue fee does not cover a full evacuation.
The pages on the cost to climb Kilimanjaro and Kilimanjaro airport cover both in detail.
The Climb in Phases
The listing describes the route rather than numbered days, so these phases follow its own stages.
-
Arrival
Leopard Hotel, Moshi
Meet at the Leopard Hotel in Moshi town, about 200 m on foot from NMB Bank toward the local market. Pre and post hike hotel nights are available on request and are not included, so book your own bed or ask the operator.
-
Forest
Machame Gate to the rainforest camp
The climb starts at Machame Gate at 1,800 m on the south west of the mountain. The first day passes through rainforest, and porters pitch your private tent, the dining tent and the crew tents at the first camp.
-
Moorland
Up to Shira Camp
The trail climbs out of the forest to Shira Camp, where the Lemosho route joins from the west. Operators place Shira Camp at about 3,850 to 3,900 m.
-
Traverse
Lava Tower and the Barranco Wall
You traverse the southern side of the mountain via Lava Tower, sleep low at Barranco, then climb the Great Barranco Wall, about 257 m high and one to two hours of scrambling per operators, on the way toward Barafu.
-
High camps
Barafu Camp
Barafu Camp sits at 4,640 m according to published operator figures. The guides run a daily health check, and the summit attempt starts from here.
-
Summit night
Barafu to the summit and back
The summit push starts in the dark from base camp, roughly 4,600 to 4,800 m, reaches Stella Point around sunrise and Uhuru Peak, 5,895 m (19,341 ft), after that. Expect about 15 minutes at the top. No summit is guaranteed, weather and your health on the day decide.
-
Descent
Down the Mweka trail
You descend by the Mweka trail to Mweka Gate, about 1,630 to 1,640 m, rather than retracing the ascent, then return to the Leopard Hotel in Moshi where the trip ends.
Pros and Cons
A straight read of this listing against the rest of the Machame field.
What we genuinely like
- Private tour for up to 15 per booking, with a crew of guide, chef, waiter and porters dedicated to your group
- Guides with at least 8 years on the mountain and Wilderness First Responder certification, plus daily health checks
- Emergency oxygen carried on every climb according to the operator
- The listing credits the longer distance and the walk high, sleep low pattern of the Lava Tower traverse for much better acclimatisation
- Free cancellation 24 hours before departure, and the booking is refunded too if too few travellers join
- 4.9 rating from 190 reviews on Viator
The honest downsides
- The inclusions list names no park fees, rescue fees or airport transfers, and the conservation fee alone runs US$70 per person per day plus VAT, so ask what is covered before booking
- No hotel nights in Moshi are included, so the real cost is higher than $2,425
- The listing prints no day by day itinerary with camps and heights, so you cannot verify the acclimatisation profile before paying
- The age band runs 16 to 75 and the trip is not recommended for travellers with spinal injuries, poor cardiovascular health or pregnancy
- Guides speak English only, and no other language is offered
Who it's NOT for: Not for travellers outside the 16 to 75 age band, anyone told not to climb at altitude, or anyone who wants park fees and a hotel bed inside a single price.
Questions About This 7 Day Machame Climb
How much does this 7 day Machame route climb cost?
It costs $2,425 per person for a private tour of up to 15 per booking. Park fees, hotel nights and airport transfers are not named in the inclusions, so budget separately or compare the Machame Route 6 Days from Zara Tours, which includes park fees, rescue fees and 2 hotel nights for $2,350 per person on the Machame 6 day page.
Does the price include Kilimanjaro park fees?
The inclusions list does not mention park fees or rescue fees, so ask the operator what the price covers before booking. For scale, the TANAPA tariff sets the conservation fee at US$70 per person per day plus 18% VAT, and campsite fees at US$50 per night, all detailed in the cost guide.
Where does the climb start and end?
You meet at the Leopard Hotel in Moshi town, about 200 m from NMB Bank, and you finish back at the same point after descending the Mweka trail. Airport transfers are not named in the listing, so read the Kilimanjaro airport guide to plan your arrival at JRO.
How hard is the Machame Route compared with Marangu?
The listing says Machame is not more technically difficult than Marangu but is longer and steeper in places, which gives better acclimatisation. If you prefer hut accommodation to tents, the Marangu Route 5 Days from Zara Tours sleeps in huts and includes park fees, described on the Marangu page.
What gear do I need to bring?
The operator provides private tents, mattresses, tables, chairs and cutlery, so you bring clothing and boots. The inclusions do not name a sleeping bag, so ask the operator whether one is supplied or can be hired, and pack for a summit night around minus 10 to minus 20 degrees Celsius, as covered in the Kilimanjaro routes guide.
Can the operator cancel the trip if too few people book?
No loss to you: the cancellation policy refunds in full if too few travellers join, as well as up to 24 hours before departure. For other private small group options, see the Lemosho Route 7 Days from Altezza Travel on the Lemosho 7 day page.
Is this climb safe at altitude?
The crew runs daily health checks and carries an emergency oxygen cylinder on every climb according to the operator, and guides hold Wilderness First Responder certification. Altitude sickness still affects about 20 percent of people who ascend rapidly to 2,500 m, so read the guide to climbing Mount Kilimanjaro and buy insurance that covers trekking to 6,000 m with evacuation.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure