Kilimanjaro Climbing ToursAn Independent Guide Check Availability

Northern Circuit Kilimanjaro: The 8-Day Private Climb

5.0/5 54 Viator reviews From $4,554 per person10 days (8 on the mountain)Free cancellation 24h

Sold and operated by Altezza Travel. Booked and paid through Viator. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you.

The northern circuit kilimanjaro listing from Altezza Travel is a private 8-day climb, the longest route in the catalog with 8 of its 10 days spent on the mountain. It circles the north slopes past Moir Hut, Buffalo Camp, 3rd Cave and School Hut before a midnight push to Uhuru Peak at 5,895 m (19,341 ft). The price of $4,554 per person is the highest among the Kilimanjaro climbing tours compared here, but it bundles in park fees, two hotel nights at Aishi Machame Hotel and airport transfers. This page sets out what that money buys, what you still pay on top, and which climbers should look at a shorter or cheaper route instead. Compare it with the other Kilimanjaro climbing tours.

Climber with raised arms at the Uhuru Peak sign on a Kilimanjaro climbing tour by the Northern Circuit, Tanzania
5.0★54 reviews
$4,554per person
10 days (8 on the mountain)duration
Freecancellation 24
Check Availability

About This Tour

Altezza Travel runs this as a private Northern Circuit climb of 10 days, 8 of them on the mountain. You start with a pickup at Kilimanjaro International Airport (JRO) and a night at Aishi Machame Hotel, then drive to Londorossi Gate at 2,200 m and trek the north slopes by Moir Hut, Buffalo Camp, 3rd Cave Camp and School Hut. Summit day starts at School Hut (4,750 m) around midnight and ends at Millennium Camp (3,820 m) after Uhuru Peak. The listing calls it the longest and newest route on the mountain and says it is hardly ever crowded.

The crew includes Certified Wilderness First Responder guides, porters, camp masters and cooks, with one guide per two climbers on summit day. Oxygen tanks, altimeters, medical kits and medical check-ups are in the price. North Face VE-25 tents sleep two hikers each. A 9-day version with crater camping is also mentioned on the listing.

Price per person
$4,554 per person, private tour, covering park fees, 2 hotel nights, airport transfers, tents, meals on the mountain, oxygen and the climbing crew
Duration
10 days total, 8 on the mountain
Start point
Kilimanjaro International Airport (JRO) pickup, then Aishi Machame Hotel. A representative meets you in the JRO arrivals zone
Highest point
Uhuru Peak, 5,895 m (19,341 ft), reached from School Hut at 4,750 m
Paid extra
Park fees are included. On top: visa fee, travel to Tanzania, hotel lunches and dinners, personal gear (available for hire), insurance covering trekking to 6,000 m, and crew tips
Cancellation
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund
Quick answer Northern Circuit in short

This northern circuit kilimanjaro climb costs $4,554 per person and runs 10 days with 8 on the mountain, the longest route in the catalog. Park fees, 2 hotel nights and JRO transfers are included.

Key takeaways

  • Eight days on the mountain is a long acclimatisation profile. A 2006 park-authority dataset cited by Follow Alice puts 8-day success at 85 percent, though it is unverified, as the guide to climbing Mount Kilimanjaro explains.
  • You still budget separately for the visa, hotel lunches and dinners, crew tips, insurance and any gear hire. The full breakdown is in what the price covers.
  • If $4,554 is too high, the Lemosho Route 8 Days climb keeps a long profile at $3,200, or the Rongai Route 7 Days joins the same trail at 3rd Cave Camp for $3,993.
  • The route circles the north slopes and joins the Rongai trail at 3rd Cave. See how it compares on the routes compared.

What the Price Actually Covers

The $4,554 price is the card price on Viator. The listing states its own inclusions and exclusions, and they are set out below so you can see what is genuinely paid for and what lands on your own bill.

Included and Not Included

Park fees are explicitly included: all fees collected by Kilimanjaro National Park. The TANAPA tariff booklet for 1 July 2023 to 30 June sets the Kilimanjaro conservation fee at $70 per person per day for visitors aged 16 and over, plus camping fees of $50 per person per night. Two nights at Aishi Machame Hotel, all ground transport and the JRO pickups are also in.

The honest gap is the long list of exclusions. Lunch and dinner at the hotel sit outside the price, the Tanzanian visa is yours to buy, mountaineering insurance covering trekking up to 6,000 m (19,685 ft) is strongly recommended by the operator and is not included, personal gear from boots to sleeping bag is for hire, and crew tips are optional. None of these are marked as mandatory extras by the booking platform, so plan for them in your own budget rather than expecting the card price to be the whole trip.

LineIn the priceNotes
Park feesYesAll fees collected by Kilimanjaro National Park
Hotel nightsYes, 2Aishi Machame Hotel, 2 guests per room, check-in from 2:00 PM
Airport transfersYesJRO pickup and drop-off, representative in the arrivals zone
MealsOn the mountainThree meals a day with tea, coffee, juices and soda. Hotel lunch and dinner excluded
TentsYesNorth Face VE-25, 2 hikers per tent
Oxygen and medicalYesOxygen tanks, altimeters, medical kits, check-ups
Visa feeNoBudget for it yourself
InsuranceNoMountaineering cover to 6,000 m recommended
Crew tipsNoOptional, based on your satisfaction
Personal gearNoAvailable for hire
FlightsNoGetting to Tanzania is not included
The summit sign at Uhuru Peak, 5,895 m, a sight on Kilimanjaro climbing tours

The Uhuru Peak summit sign. Photo: Arne (assumed), public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

The Route Day by Day

The Northern Circuit follows the Lemosho trail at first and then circles the northern slopes of Kibo, joining the traditional Rongai route at 3rd Cave Camp. Wikipedia gives the Northern Circuit a length of about 90 km, the longest of the official routes. The heights below come from the operator's own itinerary.

From JRO to the Summit and Back

Day 1 is arrival at JRO, transfer to Aishi Machame Hotel and an evening briefing, with check-in from 2:00 PM. Day 2 starts with a 3 to 4 hour drive to Londorossi Gate at 2,200 m for permits and search and rescue registration, then a vehicle transfer up to a high-altitude drop-off at 3,500 m and a short walk to Shira 1 Camp. Day 3 gains 300 m to Shira 2 Camp, followed by an acclimatisation walk towards Lava Tower for a further 300 m.

Day 4 is the Lava Tower day: the route climbs from Shira 2 at 3,900 m to Lava Tower at 4,630 m, with lunch spent at altitude to trigger acclimatisation, then descends to Moir Hut. If anyone is struggling, the guide can take the porter trail and cap the day at 4,400 m. Day 5 rounds the northern slope to Buffalo Camp with views towards the Tsavo and Amboseli Valleys near the Kenyan border. Day 6 brings the route to 3rd Cave Camp where it meets the Rongai trail. Day 7 climbs to School Hut at 4,750 m. Summit night starts around midnight, and the descent ends at Millennium Camp at 3,820 m before the walk out via Mweka Gate and the transfer back to the hotel and JRO.

The acclimatisation case rests on the slow profile: two nights on the Shira Plateau, a climb-high sleep-low day at Lava Tower, and 8 days total on the mountain. The 2006 park-authority dataset put success at 85 percent on 8-day itineraries against 45 percent overall, though Follow Alice notes that dataset is unverified and not updated, and Wikipedia separately gives a 70 to 80 percent average success rate. Treat all such figures as indications, not promises. Weather and altitude decide the summit, not the itinerary.

DayRouteHeight
1JRO arrival, Aishi Machame Hotel, briefingnot stated
2Drive to Londorossi Gate, drop-off, trek to Shira 1 Camp2,200 m gate, 3,500 m drop-off
3Shira 1 to Shira 2, acclimatisation walk towards Lava Towerplus 300 m, plus 300 m on the walk
4Shira 2 via Lava Tower to Moir Hut3,900 m to 4,630 m, or 4,400 m on the porter trail
5Moir Hut to Buffalo Camp, north slopesnot stated
6Buffalo Camp to 3rd Cave Camp, joins the Rongai routeabout 4,000 m per the listing
73rd Cave Camp to School Hut4,750 m
8Midnight start, Uhuru Peak, descent to Millennium Camp5,895 m summit, 3,820 m camp
9-10Mweka Gate descent, hotel, JRO drop-offnot stated

Who This Trip Rules Out

The listing sets its own limits and they are worth reading before you commit $4,554. This is a tented camping route for fit travellers with ten days to spare and paperwork in order.

Stated Limits and What to Pick Instead

The booking age band runs from 13 to 70 and an adult must be on the booking, which excludes older climbers who would be accepted on the Lemosho Route 7 Days with its 13 to 95 band. Travellers with spinal injuries, poor cardiovascular health or a pregnancy are advised against this trek. A moderate level of physical fitness is the stated minimum, but eight days on the trail with a midnight summit push asks more than the shorter routes.

The price itself rules some people out. At $4,554 it is the highest listing in the catalog, and the hotel lunches and dinners, visa, insurance, gear hire and crew tips all come on top. If budget matters, the Rongai Route 7 Days Budget is listed at $2,000, or the shared Machame Route 6 Days costs $2,350. If ten days is too long, the Lemosho Route 8 Days keeps a long acclimatisation profile at $3,200 and nine days total. And this is a camping route: North Face VE-25 tents, two hikers each, no huts. If you want walls and a bed, the Marangu Route 5 Days is the only hut route on the mountain.

Altitude, Season and Paperwork

The practical side of the climb: season, summit night, fees and paperwork.

Seasons and Summit Night

Kilimanjaro has two rainy seasons, late March to May and November, per Wikipedia and Altezza Travel. Altezza names January to mid-March and June to October as the dry climbing windows. Average summit temperature is about minus 7 degrees Celsius (19 F), and the arctic zone above 5,000 m drops to minus 20 to minus 10 C at night. Expect roughly 15 minutes at the summit before turning around, as operators describe, and no view at all if cloud sits on the peak. Plan for the season, not for a promised photograph.

Acute mountain sickness affects about 40 percent of people who ascend rapidly to 3,000 m, and HAPE and HACE, the severe forms, can be fatal. The operator's own advice is to drink over 4 liters of water a day, skip alcohol and caffeine, consider Diamox after asking your doctor, and tell the guide at once about any headache with nausea or fatigue. The listing also includes medical check-ups.

  • Dry seasons: January to mid-March and June to October (Altezza Travel)
  • Rains: late March to May and November (Wikipedia and Altezza Travel)
  • Summit night: around midnight from School Hut at 4,750 m, sunrise near the rim, about 15 minutes at the top

Getting There, Fees and Paperwork

Most international arrivals land at Kilimanjaro International Airport (JRO), which serves airlines including KLM, Qatar Airways, Turkish Airlines, Ethiopian Airlines, Kenya Airways and Air France, and handled over a million passengers in 2024. A company representative meets you in the arrivals zone and drives you to the hotel. The ordinary Tanzanian single-entry visa is $50, or $100 for the multiple-entry visa that US passport holders must buy, applied for through the e-visa system with card payment.

The TANAPA tariff sets the Kilimanjaro conservation fee at $70 per person per day for visitors aged 16 and over and the public campsite fee at $50 per person per night, all plus 18 percent VAT as the booklet states. On this tour the operator collects and includes all park fees, so they are not your line item. Crew tips are: the listing lists them as an exclusion, and Nafika Tours states tips of $250 to $300 per hiker on its 7-day Lemosho listing while Duma Explorer suggests amounts that vary with group size, so treat tip figures as operator opinions. Buy insurance that explicitly covers trekking to 6,000 m with helicopter evacuation, because the park rescue fee does not cover a full evacuation. More on the gates and fees at Kilimanjaro National Park, and on flight options at Kilimanjaro airport.

Sources: Wikipedia, TANAPA tariff, Tanzanian embassy

Itinerary at a Glance

The listing numbers its days. Where the itinerary gives no clock time, the phase is named instead.

  1. Day 1

    Arrival

    Land at Kilimanjaro International Airport (JRO), meet the representative in the arrivals zone and transfer to Aishi Machame Hotel. Check-in starts at 2:00 PM. Evening briefing with the managers. Hotel lunch and dinner are not in the price.

  2. Day 2

    Forest and Shira

    Morning briefing at the hotel, then a 3 to 4 hour drive to Londorossi Gate (2,200 m) for permits and search and rescue registration. Off-road vehicles climb to the 3,500 m drop-off and a short trek brings you to Shira 1 Camp for the first night under canvas.

  3. Day 3

    Shira Plateau

    A modest gain of 300 m to Shira 2 Camp, then after lunch and a 2-hour rest an acclimatisation walk towards Lava Tower adds a further 300 m of altitude exposure.

  4. Day 4

    Lava Tower

    From Shira 2 at 3,900 m the route climbs to Lava Tower at 4,630 m with lunch taken there, then descends to Moir Hut. The guide may use the porter trail and cap the high point at 4,400 m if anyone has not acclimatised.

  5. Day 5

    High camps

    A steep exit from Moir Valley, then the long traverse of the northern slope to Buffalo Camp with views of the Tsavo and Amboseli Valleys near the Kenyan border.

  6. Day 6

    High camps

    A shorter day to 3rd Cave Camp, where the Northern Circuit joins the traditional Rongai route and the body has settled at about 4,000 m.

  7. Day 7

    To School Hut

    The climb to School Hut at 4,750 m. Early dinner and sleep, because the summit push begins around midnight.

  8. Day 8

    Summit night and descent

    A midnight start from School Hut to Uhuru Peak at 5,895 m (19,341 ft) with one guide per two climbers, then the long descent to Millennium Camp at 3,820 m.

Pros and Cons

An honest read of the listing against the rest of the catalog.

What we genuinely like

  • Eight days on the mountain is a long acclimatisation profile, and the 2006 park-authority dataset reported by Follow Alice puts 8-day success at 85 percent against 45 percent overall
  • Park fees, 2 hotel nights at Aishi Machame Hotel and JRO transfers are all inside the $4,554 price
  • The listing says the route is hardly ever crowded
  • Oxygen tanks, altimeters, medical kits, check-ups and Wilderness First Responder guides are included, with one guide per two climbers on summit day
  • Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure, a private tour of up to 15

The honest downsides

  • It is the highest price in the catalog, and hotel lunches and dinners, the visa, insurance, gear hire and crew tips all come on top
  • Ten days total is a lot of annual leave, with the airport and hotel days either side of the eight on the mountain
  • Tented camping throughout, two hikers per North Face VE-25 tent, with no hut option
  • The listing calls this the newest route on the mountain, so there is less published detail to cross-check
  • Summit night from 4,750 m in minus 20 to minus 10 C conditions is cold work regardless of fitness

Who it's NOT for: Not for travellers on a tight budget, with under ten days free, who want hut accommodation, or who fall outside the 13 to 70 age band or the medical limits on spinal, cardiovascular or pregnancy conditions.

Questions About This Climb

How much does the Northern Circuit Kilimanjaro climb cost?

The card price is $4,554 per person for the private 8-day climb. Park fees, 2 hotel nights, airport transfers, tents, meals on the mountain and oxygen are in the price, and the exclusions are listed in what the price actually covers.

How long is the Northern Circuit route?

Wikipedia gives it about 90 km, the longest of the official Kilimanjaro routes, and this listing runs 10 days with 8 on the mountain. Operators sell it in 8 to 10 day versions, which the route pages under Kilimanjaro routes lay out.

Is the Northern Circuit good for acclimatisation?

The profile is the strongest argument for it: a slow start on the Shira Plateau, a climb-high sleep-low day at Lava Tower at 4,630 m and a summit night from School Hut. A 2006 park-authority dataset reported by Follow Alice put 8-day success at 85 percent, though that dataset is unverified, so read the acclimatisation logic rather than the headline number.

Where does the route sleep?

In North Face VE-25 tents with two hikers per tent, moving up through Shira 1, Shira 2, Moir Hut, Buffalo Camp, 3rd Cave and School Hut, then Millennium Camp on the descent. Marangu is the only hut route, as the Marangu Route 5 Days page explains.

What is summit night like?

It starts at School Hut at 4,750 m around midnight with one guide per two climbers, climbing to Uhuru Peak at 5,895 m (19,341 ft) in the dark before descending to Millennium Camp at 3,820 m. Summit temperatures of minus 20 to minus 10 C are typical in the arctic zone, so a warm sleeping bag matters, and gear is available for hire if you do not own one.

What is not included in the price?

The listing excludes flights to Tanzania, the visa fee, hotel lunches and dinners, personal gear and sleeping bag (available for hire), mountaineering insurance covering trekking to 6,000 m, and crew tips. Typical tip amounts are operator opinions, as the cost to climb Kilimanjaro guide sets out.

Is there a cheaper route that joins the Northern Circuit trail?

Yes. The Northern Circuit meets the Rongai route at 3rd Cave Camp. The Rongai Route 7 Days private climb from the same operator costs $3,993, and the Rongai Route 7 Days Budget from a different operator is listed at $2,000.

If eight days on the longest route on Kilimanjaro fits your calendar and budget, check the open dates for your group.

Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund on the platform's terms.

Check Availability

Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure

From $4,554 per person Check Availability